Home Profile Academics Facilities Projects Union Join Us Donate Contact Us

Dharmaraja News

Ananda- Dharmaraja under 19 traditional cricket match for the P.W.Perera Trophy will be played on Wednesday 7th and Thursday 8th instant at Lake View.

Ananda and Dharmaraja , two leading Buddhist Schools established by the Buddhist Theosophical Society in 1886 and 1887 respectively, have been playing cricket with each other since 1893 when the Dharmaraja team was led by their Principal at the time Sir D.B.Jayatilake, the national hero.

P.W.Perera Trophy was introduced in 1999 by the cricket wing of Ananda Old Boys led by the former captain of Ananda, Charth Senanayake, in appreciation of the great services rendered to both Dharmaraja and Ananda to upgrade their cricket to high standards, officiating as the cricket coach of both schools at different times. P.W . Perera the former Ananda College cricket Captain was appointed to the staff of Dharmraja in 1941 by Mr. L.H.Metthananda The Principal, mainly to coach the cricketers. He coached from 1941 to 1943 with tremendous success at Dharmatraja.The teams produced by Mr. P.W Perera were undefeated outstanding teams. Under his guidance five players scored Centuries. They were T.B.Talwatta, P.L.Arthur Alwis, Rajah Mettananda, S.G.Munasinghe and M.R.Goonawardana. The 1942-43 team was considered unofficial champions having won all the matches played during that season. Mr Perera left Dharmaraja accepting an appointment in the Prisons Department . He retired from the Publlic Sevice as the Superintendent of Prisons.From 1960 onwards he guided Ananda his alma mater, to blossom to great heights producing many Sri Lanka Cricketers.He died in 2006 on the eve of the Ananda Dharmaraja match at the Peradeniya Campus Grounds, and the players observed 2 minutes silence at the commencement of the game and continued playing the match wearing black arm bands as a mark of respect for him.

The first year the Trophy was awarded (1999), it was won by Ananda with an outright victory by Ananda under the captaincy of Jithendra Perera .Dharmaraja was led by Asanga Marapana as the Captain Pubudu Senaviratne was representing the Sri Lanka Under 19 team in India. The trophy is retained by Ananda since then as it is awarded only at an outright victory.

Last year at Ananda Mawatha the match was drawn.

Ananda scored 335 for 8 declared. Dharmaraja 128 all out, first innings. Dharmaraja second innings 267 for 7 wickets. Niwantha Herath 132 and Sachintha Senanayake

71 saved the game for the Rajans.Sachintha Senanayake is in the present Rajans team. He scored 104 not out aginst Wesley this year,and he is expected to come out with an outstanding performance against Ananda.

Home ProfileAcademicsFacilitiesProjectsUnionJoin UsDonateContact UsHomeProfileAcademicsFacilitiesProjectsUnionJoin UsDonateContact UsHomeProfileAcademicsFacilitiesProjectsUnionJoin UsDonateContact UsHomeProfileAcademicsFacilitiesProjectsUnionJoin UsDonateContact Us